Strange New World: Reading Group Enrollment
Crossway ActivEreader

Strange New World: Reading Group Enrollment

In this book historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.”

At a Glance

Inside this ActivEreader eBook

  • Perpetual access:
    • Strange New World eBook
    • Highlight and make notes
  • 60 month access:
    • 9 videos with Carl R. Trueman
    • Audio for each chapter; read by author
    • Reflection questions in each chapter
    • 9 quizzes
    • Review items for each chapter using Cerego learning engine
    • Student dashboard to check your progress
    • Export your notes

Read the ActivEreader edition on the BibleMesh web-reader or iOS and Android app.

Web-reader

ActivEreader eBook

192 pages


Sign Up Today
8-SESSION ONLINE READING GROUP

  • Led by Dr. Dennis Greeson
  • Mondays, March 11 – May 6, 2024
  • 12:00pm CT / 1:00pm ET / 21:00pm GMT
Upon Enrollment, an email will be sent with instructions on how to join the class group within your ActivEreader dashboard, along with a Zoom Call Link for each session.

More Details

Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

By: Carl R. Trueman Forward By: Ryan T. Anderson

From Philosophy to Technology, Tracing the Origin of Identity Politics

How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics and explains the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and personal identity.

For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, Strange New World offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

To access the ActivEreader Student Tutorial Videos, click here.


About the Technology

About the Author

Carl R. Trueman


Carl R. Trueman
(PhD, University of Aberdeen) is professor of biblical and religious studies at Grove City College. He is a contributing editor at First Things, an esteemed church historian, and a fellow at the Ethics and Public Policy Center. Trueman has authored or edited more than a dozen books, including The Creedal Imperative; Luther on the Christian Life; and Histories and Fallacies. He is a member of the Orthodox Presbyterian Church.

Format: ActivEreader eBook

Published Date: March 22, 2022

Publisher: Crossway

Crossway